Election Results Reported In South Dakota

Results are now being posted for races across South Dakota.

Click here for results from statewide races in South Dakota.

Click here for results from Minnehaha County.

The Associated Press has declared incumbent Sen. John Thune the winner of South Dakota’s U.S. Senate race. Democrat Jay Williams is Thune’s opponent for the Senate seat.

Thune is seeking his third term in the Senate, and is currently the third highest ranking Republican in the Senate. He is the highest ranking Republican senator in South Dakota history.

Thune first ran for Senate in 2002, when he lost to incumbent Democrat Sen. Tim Johnson. Thune later clinched a seat in the Senate in 2004 when he beat Senate Minority Leader Tom Daschle, with 51 percent of the vote. In 2010, he ran unopposed.

He has served three terms in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1996 to 2002.