Heid Finalist For Harlon Hill Award

Augie senior QB makes final list for D-II Heisman

Augustana University senior quarterback Trey Heid has been named one of nine finalists for the Harlon Hill Award, which is given annually to the top player in Division II football. The announcement was made Wednesday morning by the Harlon Hill national committee.
The finalists were selected by the NCAA Division II sports information directors in regional voting and will now be placed on the national ballot where all 171 of the division’s SIDs will select the award’s 31st winner. The top two players from three super regions advanced to the national ballot, and three advanced from Super Region 4 due to a tie in the voting.
Heid, a 6-foot-2, 199-pound quarterback from Lakeville, Minnesota, was named the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season in 2016. He is the first player to earn NSIC Offensive Player of the Year honors in back-to-back seasons since Minnesota Duluth’s Isaac Odim was awarded following the 2009 and 2010 seasons.
Heid led the NSIC and set an Augustana single season record with 3,582 passing yards in 2016 while throwing for a league-high and single season record 41 touchdowns. He accounted for 51 total touchdowns on the season as he led the Vikings with 721 rushing yards and 10 rushing touchdowns. Heid led the NSC and all of NCAA Division II averaging 391.2 yards of total offense per game in 2016.
He passed for 250-plus yards in all 11 games while throwing two or more touchdown passes in all 11 contests. Heid tossed for more than 300 yards in six games and tossed four or more touchdowns in 7 of 11 games. He finished his career as the NSIC’s all-time leader in passing touchdowns with 104 and total offense with 13,019 yards in 43 career conference games. He finished third all-time in NSIC history with 11,300 passing yards in NSIC play.
Heid is Augustana’s all-time leader in passing yards (11,476), passing touchdowns (105) and total offense yards (13,235). Heid is a two-time All-NSIC First Team selection. He was an All-NSIC Second Team honoree as a sophomore in 2014.
Heid helped Augustana to an 8-3 record in 2016, marking Augustana’s second straight season with eight-plus wins.
The list of 2016 finalists is comprised of six quarterbacks, two running backs and one receiver. Seven of the finalists helped lead their teams into the 2016 NCAA Division II playoffs and five are on teams competing in this weekend’s quarterfinal match-ups.
Heid and Kyle Zimmerman of Northwest Missouri State advanced from Super Region 3. Garry Brown (California (Pa.)) and Jeff Ziemba (Shepherd) represent Super Region 1. Jacob Tucker (North Alabama) and Raleigh Yeldell (Newberry) represent Super Region 2 and Marty Carter (Grand Valley State), Justin Dvorak (Colorado School of Mines) and Austin Ekeler (Western State Colorado) represent Super Region 4.
National voting will conclude on Dec. 10 and the winner of the 2016 award, which is presented by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee, will be announced on Friday, Dec. 16. The winner will be honored at a luncheon on the University of North Alabama campus on Jan. 6, 2017. The Harlon Hill Trophy is sponsored by the City of Florence, Ala., Opti-Net, Herff Jones and the Marriott Shoals Hotel and Spa.