The MSTS 360 Sprint Car championship was already decided before the first green flag at Badlands Motor Speedway. Tim Kaeding, with five wins, had already sewn up the crown. However, he was looking for his first MSTS win since July 17.

The San Jose, California, driver was challenged by a strong field of 31 other drivers, also looking for a win on the final night of the 2016 racing season at BMS.

Terry McCarl started on the pole alongside Jody Rosenboom. The two took advantage of their front row starting positions to lead early.

With nine laps scored in the 20 lap A Main, Dylan Peterson slowed to bring out the caution flag.

Justin Henderson wasted no time in scooting past Rosenboom using the high side of the track on the restart.

Henderson ran second to McCarl for the remainder of the feature, although never getting close enough to challenge for the lead.

Kaeding, who started seventh, worked his way past Aaron Reutzel, Carson McCarl and Rosenboom to eventually score a third place finish.

tmac911“It was great to have a great race track to race on,” McCarl said after his 102nd career win at BMS.

“I’ve got to thank all the fans,” Kaeding first stated in discussing his MSTS championship. Kaeding added that he’d like to race all three Sprint Car divisions in 2017 and try to win Chuck’s Challenge, which includes deep bonuses for Sprint Car drivers that win two or more features in one night.


Heat 1: 1. Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA, 2. Clint Garner, Sioux Falls, SD, 3. Carson McCarl, 4. Brant O’Banion, Sioux Falls, SD, 5. Chuck McGillivray, Madison, SD, 6. Justin Jacobsma, Hull, IA, 7. Jon Sorenson, East Grand Forks, MN, 8. Dylan Peterson, Sioux Falls, SD (DNF)

Heat 2: 1. Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA, 2. Wade Nygaard, Grand Forks, ND, 3. Ian Madsen, Sydney, NSW, 4. Chris Martin, Ankeny, IA, 5. Ben Waxdahl, Flandreau, SD, 6. Doug Martens, Ward, SD (DNF), 7. Renn Weber, Hartford, SD (DNS), 8. Robby Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, SD (DQ)

Heat 3: 1. Jody Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, IA, 2. Dusty Ballenger, Harrisburg, IA, 3. Aaron Reutzel, Clute, TX, 4. Skyler Prochaska, Lakefield, MN, 5. Lee Goos Jr., Hartford, SD, 6. Andee Beierle, Bismarck, ND, 7. Brandon Bosma, Round Lake, MN (DNF), 8. Eric Lutz, Sioux Falls, SD (DNF)

Heat 4: 1. Justin Henderson, Tea, SD, 2. Logan Forler, Boise, ID, 3. Ryan Bickett, Ramona, SD, 4. Kevin Flowers, Hartford, SD, 5. Gregg Bakker, Sioux Falls, SD, 6. Tommy Barber, Brandon, SD, 7. Troy Schreurs, Baltic, SD, 8. Justin Glaser, Sioux Falls, SD

B Feature: 1. Ben Waxdahl, 2. Troy Schreurs, 3. Andee Beierle, 4. Dylan Peterson, 5. Justin Glaser, 6. Justin Jacobsma, 7. Robby Wolfgang, 8. Doug Martens, 9. Jon Sorenson, 10. Brandon Bosma, 11. Eric Lutz (DNS), 12. Renn Weber (DNS)

A Feature: 1. Terry McCarl, 2. Justin Henderson, 3. Tim Kaeding, 4. Jody Rosenboom, 5. Ian Madsen, 6. Aaron Reutzel, 7. Logan Forler, 8. Carson McCarl, 9. Wade Nygaard, 10. Ryan Bickett, 11. Chris Martin, 12. Dylan Peterson, 13. Clint Garner, 14. Chuck McGillivray, 15. Dusty Ballenger, 16. Tommy Barber, 17. Ben Waxdahl, 18. Gregg Bakker, 19. Andee Beierle, 20. Brant O’Banion, 21. Skyler Prochaska, 22. Kevin Flowers, 23. Lee Goos Jr. (DNF), 24. Troy Schreurs (DNF)

fick911Shane Fick ended the 2016 season as the winningest driver among all BMS classes. He strung together an amazing seven consecutive wins to end the year as the Micro Sprint track title holder.

In the feature, Fick ran second while reeling in Adam Krapf. Once he passed Krapf for the lead, he drove away from the competition to close out the race.

Jacob Hughes also got by Krapf for a second place finish.

“We slaved on this car for two weeks and I think we dialed ourselves out of it until tonight,” Fick said.


Heat 1: 1. Jacob Hughes, Hartford, SD, 2. Brady Hall, Lakefield, MN, 3. Adam Krapf, Jasper, MN, 4. Chad Nachtigal, Little Rock, IA, 5. Russ Husman, Baltic, SD, 6. Brooke Wegener, Sioux Falls, SD, 7. Cody Wegener, Sioux Falls, SD (DNF)

Heat 2: 1. Shane Fick, Brandon, SD, 2. Jody Rosenboom, Rock Rapids, IA, 3. Randy Wulf, Chester, SD, 4. Nick Kirkegaard, Sioux Falls, SD, 5. Kyle Regnier, Sioux Falls, SD, 6. Blair Nattress, Luverne, MN

A Feature: 1. Shane Fick, 2. Jacob Hughes, 3. Adam Krapf, 4. Chad Nachtigal, 5. Nick Kirkegaard, 6. Jody Rosenboom, 7. Brady Hall, 8. Brooke Wegener, 9. Cody Wegener, 10. Kyle Regnier, 11. Blair Nattress, 12. Randy Wulf (DNF), 13. Russ Husman (DNS)

kuhnert911With plenty of fanfare leading up to the USRA Hobby Stock season championship, Chad Kuhnert and Dustin Gulbrandson didn’t disappoint those who were hoping the two would race it out to the finish.