Judge Gregory Stoltenburg Appointed As Presiding Judge Of The Third Judicial Circuit

Chief Justice David Gilbertson announced today the appointment of the Honorable Gregory Stoltenburg as Presiding Judge for the Third Judicial Circuit. Judge Stoltenburg’s appointment will follow the retirement of the Honorable Tim D. Tucker on June 8, 2015. The Third Judicial Circuit consists of Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lake, Miner, Moody, and Sanborn counties.

Judge Stoltenburg obtained his Bachelor of Science degree South Dakota State University and law degree from the University of South Dakota. Following law school, Judge Stoltenburg served as law clerk to Justice John K. Konenkamp of the South Dakota Supreme court. He served as a Deputy States Attorney for Deuel County from 1996-2000 and was the Deuel County States Attorney from 2000-2012 while also engaged in the practice of law at a private law firm. Judge Stoltenburg is a member of the South Dakota Army National Guard. He was appointed a circuit court judge in 2013 by Governor Dennis Daugaard.

Pursuant to Article V, Section 11 of the South Dakota Constitution, Presiding Judges are appointed by the Chief Justice and serve at his pleasure. The Presiding Judges are administrative heads of their respective circuits. The Chief Justice expressed his appreciation for Judge Stoltenburg’s willingness to serve the Unified Judicial System and people of South Dakota in this manner and thanked Judge Tucker for his outstanding work as Presiding Judge in the Third Judicial Circuit.

Categories: Hughes-imported, Master Parent-imported, News-imported, Pierre-imported, Politics, South Dakota