NSIC Baseball Tournament Bracket

Augustana, Sioux Falls And Northern State In Eight Team Field

The 2016 NSIC Baseball Tournament bracket is set as regular season play concluded on Saturday. The top eight teams in the final regular season standings will participate in the double-elimination tournament, which will be held May 11-14 at Joe Faber and Dick Putz Fields in St. Cloud, Minnesota.

Minnesota Duluth earned the number one seed after winning the NSIC Regular Season Championship with a league record of 29-7. This marks the Bulldogs fourth NSIC Baseball Regular Season Title and its first since 1999.

Wednesday, May 11
Faber Field #8 Sioux Falls vs. #1 Minnesota Duluth 11 a.m.
Dick Putz #5 Concordia-St. Paul vs. #4 Minnesota State Mankato 11 a.m.
Faber Field #7 Northern State vs. #2 Augustana 3 p.m.
Dick Putz #6 Minnesota Crookston vs. #3 St. Cloud State 3 p.m.

Full Schedule at: www.NorthernSun.org/NSICBase

The winner of the NSIC Baseball Tournament will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Central Region Tournament. The NCAA Central Region is made up of 41 teams from the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (15), the Mid-America Athletic Association (MIAA) (14) and the Great American Conference (GAC) (12). Automatic bids are awarded to the tournament champions from each conference with the final five spots awarded on an at-large basis. In all, eight teams will advance to the NCAA Central Region Tournament played on May 19-23 at a site to be determined.

The NCAA Division II Baseball Championships will take place May 28 to June 4 at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, N.C. The NCAA Division II Baseball Selection show will air via webcast at NCAA.com on Sunday, May 15 at 9 p.m. central time.  

Categories: Colleges – Augustana, Colleges – Northern State, Colleges – Northern State-imported, Colleges – University of Sioux Falls-imported, Master Parent-imported, Sports Top Stories-imported