GFP Proposes Petition Process For Non-meandered Lakes Restrictions

PIERRE, S.D. — The South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) Commission during the July Commission meeting adopted a proposal to establish a process where landowners can request the restriction of recreational use of nonmeandered waters for public use.

GFP Department Secretary Kelly Hepler says the process being considered by the Commission will give landowners the ability to formally make those restriction requests.

Petitioning landowners must first complete and submit the petition form which can found online at Landowners can complete and submit the form online or print and mail the form to GFP.

Upon submission of the form, the Commission will schedule and post a hearing date based on the availability of the landowner and the Commission. The hearing agenda will be publicly posted and the hearing will be open to the public. Prior to the Commission’s decision, the department will work with the landowner to determine temporary solutions to accommodate the landowner and the public.

After the hearing, the Commission will decide to grant the petition in part or full, or denies the petition stating its reasons for partial or complete denial.

State law requires the Commission to consider privacy, safety and substantially affected financial interests of the landowner as well as history of use, water quality and quantity and the public’s interest in recreational use of the water.

Final adoption of this proposed petition process rule will be considered at the Commission meeting in September. After which they will begin accepting and considering petitions for closing waters to public access.

The proposed rule will pertain to the following 27 Section 8 nonmeandered lakes:

(1)    Casey’s Slough, Cottonwood GPA, Dry #1, Dry #2, Round, and Swan in Clark County;

(2)    Deep and Goose in Codington County;

(3)    East Krause, Lynn, and Middle Lynn, in Day County;

(4)    North Scatterwood in Edmunds County;

(5)    Three Buck in Hamlin County;

(6)    Bullhead, Cattail-Kettle, and Opitz in Marshall County;

(7)    Island South in McCook County;

(8)    Keisz in McPherson County;

(9)    Grass, Loss, Scott, and Twin in Minnehaha County;

(10)    Twin in Sanborn County;

(11)    Cottonwood and Mud in Spink County;

(12)    Cottonwood in Sully County; and

(13)    Dog Ear in Tripp County, South Dakota.



Categories: Local News, News, News Top Story, South Dakota

Related Post